Iverk Show

Scoil Aireagail students had another successful day at the 182nd Iverk Show which took place in Piltown on Saturday 12th September. In the post-primary section, we entered nine out of ten junior categories, and six of the ten senior sections.

            On the day 8 junior students finished in the medals in the nine sections entered. In Engineering/Metalwork, Brendan Burke finished 3rd; Richie Kent came 2nd in the woodwork category; Tanya Cody, Adam Moore and Zoe Deady completed a clean sweep in Craft & Design(art); in Fabric work, Richard Kenneally also finished in 1st place; Katie Hanly came 2nd in Miscellaneous; and Brendan Burke won the Poetry section, with Rebecca Dunne 3rd in the same category.

            In the senior section, 10 of our students stood on podium positions. Darragh Smyth and Daniel Kedney finished 1st & 2nd respectively in Engineering/Metalwork; Danielle Phelan, Jim Phelan and Gillian claimed a 1-2-3in Craft & Design (art); in the Drawing category, Gillian Murray came 1st,with Ellen Hanly 2nd; Seamus Millea won the modelling section, with Michael Fennelly 2nd and Jim Phelan 3rd; and, in Poetry, Ellen Hanly won gold, followed by Jessica Cody and Jason Phelan.

            With an overall points total of 54, Scoil Aireagail won the Munster Express Perpetual Cup. Congratulations to all the students concerned, and to Ms. Roche for all her work behind the scenes.

Comments are closed.