Under 14 Gaelic Football: South Leinster Champions!

Congratulations to our under 14 Gaelic football panel who defeated Avondale CC by 6-11 to 1-3 in the South Leinster juvenile football final held in Dr. Cullen Park, Carlow recently. This was the first ever juvenile Leinster football title to come to the school, so well done to all concerned, including manager Mr. O’Halloran. Throughout this tournament the team played some wonderful football and deserved their place in the final, having beaten local rivals Grennan College of Thomastown along the way. 

The final saw the panel up against Avondale from Co. Wicklow, and a tight first half saw Ballyhale go in 6 points up at the break, on a score line of 2-5 to 1-2. This was to change in the second half, as Scoil Aireagail pulled away to win comfortably by 6-11 to 1-3 at the final whistle.

The scorers were led by full forward companions Luke Donnelly from Ballyhale Shamrocks and Paul Kirwan from Dunnamaggin, who shared three goals and three points equally between them, closely followed by midfielder Ronan Corcoran (1-4), centre forward Kevin Farrell (1-2),  right half back Ronan Coffey (1-0), and William Bergin and Ray Cody, who got a point each.

Indeed, there were some outstanding performances all over the pitch from Scoil Aireagail, none more so than corner back Michael Jones from Mullinavat, who received the man of the match award from the manager. After the match, Captain Ray Cody from Dunnamaggin received the trophy from Pat Henderson.

Well done and best of luck to the entire panel and to Mr. O’Halloran in the next round, when they will take on the Dublin sector winners in the Leinster semi-final.

Panel: Ryan Thomas, Aaron Doherty, Mark Phelan, William Bergin, Stephen Donnelly, Nigel Curran, Ronan Corcoran, Brian Phelan, Patrick Foran, Paul Kirwan, Mark Ryan, Michael Jones, Ray Cody, Kevin Farrell, Dylan Halligan, Stephen Lawlor, Luke Rafter, Thomas Renehan, Darren Audoire, Conor O’Dwyer, Ronan Coffey, Eoghan Grace, Eugene Aylward, Patrick Butler, Luke Donnelly, M.J. Nolan, Gregory O’Donnell, Patrick Malone, Ryan Bland, Thomas Brennan, Robert Burke.